Life on the front porch

Faith, life, kids & bikes

Who unites us is greatest!

Leave a comment

20120128-002916.jpg

This is a thank you to the Ecumenical Youth Network here in Winnipeg. I was invited to be the MC (the leader of the worship service) tonight – I told everyone that I was the comedy leader since as a vineyard pastor I’m so unfamiliar with written liturgy (we’ve got liturgy, it’s just mostly unwritten). We had lots of fun!

I think what I enjoyed most was joy in doing this together. The singing in agreement, the confessions of disunity, the hugs while we exchanged the peace of Christ (which is so much more than greeting your neighbour) and sharing coffee and snacks afterwards.

What struck me was the holiness of the moment. As I prayed before the service I felt like God was calling this a Joel 2 solemn assembly.

12 “Yet even now,” declares the LORD, “return to me with all your heart, with fasting, with weeping, and with mourning;
13 and rend your hearts and not your garments.” Return to the LORD your God, for he is gracious and merciful, slow to anger, and abounding in steadfast love; and he relents over disaster.

Jesus wants his bride to sing together, it’s his desire that his church be one in love. His desire is that we become like him – and he loves us all. 80 people in a city of 700,000 moves heaven and can be a catalyst for our city’s salvation.

Let me conclude with this prayer from Revelation 22:
The Spirit and the Bride say, “Come.” And let the one who hears say, “Come.” And let the one who is thirsty come; let the one who desires take the water of life without price.

Amen. This is a thank you to the Ecumenical Youth Network here in Winnipeg. I was invited to be the MC (the leader of the worship service) tonight – I told everyone that I was the comedy leader since as a Vineyard pastor I’m so unfamiliar with written liturgy (we’ve got liturgy, it’s just mostly unwritten). We had lots of fun!

I think what I enjoyed most was joy in doing this together. The singing in agreement, the confessions of disunity, the hugs while we exchanged the peace of Christ and sharing coffee and snacks afterwards.

What struck me was the holiness of the moment. As I prayed before the service j felt like God was calling this a Joel 2 solemn assembly.

12 “Yet even now,” declares the LORD, “return to me with all your heart, with fasting, with weeping, and with mourning;
13 and rend your hearts and not your garments.” Return to the LORD your God, for he is gracious and merciful, slow to anger, and abounding in steadfast love; and he relents over disaster.

Jesus wants his bride to sing together, it’s his desire that his church be one in love. His desire is that we become like him – and he loves us all. 80 people in a city of 700,000 moves heaven and can be a catalyst for our city’s salvation.

Let me conclude with this prayer from Revelation 22:
The Spirit and the Bride say, “Come.” And let the one who hears say, “Come.” And let the one who is thirsty come; let the one who desires take the water of life without price.

Amen.

Author: Robb Massey

I'm a husband, dad, pastor and a coach. I love following Jesus, riding my bike and having fun with my family. We live in wonderful Winnipeg, Manitoba in the prairie heartland of Canada

Leave a Reply

