Life on the front porch

Faith, life, kids & bikes

A servant in the courts of the Lord

Leave a comment

Been meditating on Psalm 84 and love this prayer of St. Columba.

For a day in your courts is better than a thousand elsewhere. I would rather be a doorkeeper in the house of my God than dwell in the tents of wickedness. Psalm 84.10 ESV

Almighty Father,Son and Holy Ghost,
Eternal,ever-blessed gracious God,
To me the least of saints,to me,allow
That I may keep a door in Paradise;
That I may keep even the smallest door,
The furthest door,
The darkest coldest door,
The door that is least used,
The stiffest door,
If so it be but in thine house,O God !
If so it be that I can see Thy Glory,
Even afar and hear Thy Voice,O God !
And know that I am with Thee – Thee ,O God.
St. Columba

I love this image of being so desperate for the presence of God that I’d take the role of a servant who had an insignificant role just to be near Him. What do you imagine?

20120208-130842.jpg

Author: Robb Massey

I'm a husband, dad, pastor and a coach. I love following Jesus, riding my bike and having fun with my family. We live in wonderful Winnipeg, Manitoba in the prairie heartland of Canada

Leave a Reply

