Life on the front porch

Faith, life, kids & bikes

What to do on Halloween?

7 Comments

A friend emailed me recently who feels torn between giving their kids the fun of Halloween and standing against the evil associated with the day (witchcraft, gluttony). Here’s part of my response.

Halloween for us is our one chance annually to talk to all our neighbours. If the Lord is telling you not to celebrate on this day, keep reading, I have some ideas.

We participate at Halloween for these reasons:
1. It was, at some point, Christian celebration: hallowe’en is hallowed evening which is holy evening
2. Partying together is bonding
3. God is redeeming all things: he’s making all things new.
4. I really like the final chance to see my neighbours before we lock everything down for the winter. (a Winnipeg thing)

But, don’t destroy your conscience. The Lord has a reason for how you feel (same as how I feel about obligation gift giving at Christmas – if it’s an obligation it’s no gift). Here’s some ideas about how to make it special and not engaging in the evil elements of the night.

1. Volunteer to be a safety patrol. Be crossing guards at a busy intersection.
2. Put on a big pot of soup or chili, pull your fire pit to the front yard and feed the parents of kids.
3. Kids love to dress up. Dress up with them, go buy some candy and visit the children’s hospital (or the seniors home). Do it a day early or a day late and it’s just goofy. Do it on the 31st and it’s still goofy.

Ultimately, if you’re feeling uneasy, ask the Lord and ask your family. Help your kids know what you feel uncomfortable about, because it’s probably not everything. It may be that you’re to pray and call others to pray. (This is probably a good idea anyway).

Your feelings on it are trustworthy, but for what purpose? There’s no universal principal, you must walk with the Spirit. Can you think of ways to bring honor to Jesus on Halloween? What do you do to be God honouring on Halloween?

Author: Robb Massey

I'm a husband, dad, pastor and a coach. I love following Jesus, riding my bike and having fun with my family. We live in wonderful Winnipeg, Manitoba in the prairie heartland of Canada

7 thoughts on “What to do on Halloween?

  1. We make it a family night and go to the forks for fish and chips….the place is almost empty and we have the forks to ourselves. The costumes and images in the neighbourhood are often disturbing to our kids and we felt it best just to get away and turn it into a positive family time.

  2. thanks rob for this.. I appreciate it.. I’ve never had a bad halloween experience.. whether it be as a kid (getting to know the neighbours/hood w/my friends and parents)… .or else giving out candy.. (same thing).. its quite humorous asking about people’s odd costumes.. whether they are 6 or 16.

    • I find that people are looking for principles or rules to guide them. Unfortunately for many, that’s not the life of following Jesus. Jesus gives us the Holy Spirit to help with what to do. Principles get trumped by knowing the One who put the principles in place.

  3. Couldn’t agree more Rob. Thanks for the article. Time for the people who say they follow Jesus to start having some block parties and not wait for Halloween to get out there and connect with their neighbours.

  4. Great article. I was wishing it was black and white but of course, it’s not. That’s where the Holy Spirit comes in. “This is the day that the LORD has made! I will rejoice and me glad in it!” Psalm 118:24
    We can take the good, leave the bad and trust that God will protect us. I understand that those in the occult are praying to their Gods or satan or whoever but the beautiful thing is that I can pray to my God, the God of the Universe, to make it good. I will not hide in my basement with the lights out and let Satan have the day! I will use the day to love my neighbours like Jesus does.

Leave a Reply

