Life on the front porch

Faith, life, kids & bikes

The forgotten population

Leave a comment

Let me just put a little shout out to my friends who are brave enough to do Movember this year (I’ve chosen kissing my wife over growing facial hair that makes me look 16).  After October’s bright pink hues remind us that breast cancer affects many of us (and hopefully encourages us to give) Movember rolls in to elevate the issues of Men’s health.

I was happy to notice that this year, Movember organizers were encouraging giving to both prostate cancer research and men’s mental health.  With a few friends who struggle with mental health issues and having gone through my own season of depression, I think this is one of the hidden tragedies of our generation.

Research has shown us that, “materialism and individualism are detrimental to health and well-being“.  These are two cultural values that define many men (and increasingly many women) which could explain why I have increasing numbers of friends who struggle.  This isn’t something we can just sweep under the carpet – it affects real families, has huge economic costs and much collateral damage.

So head on over to movember.com and learn more.  And while you’re at it, make a donation.

And would someone tell my why, during Movember, my Superstore is out of Shick Quattros?

Author: Robb Massey

I'm a husband, dad, pastor and a coach. I love following Jesus, riding my bike and having fun with my family. We live in wonderful Winnipeg, Manitoba in the prairie heartland of Canada

Leave a Reply

