Life on the front porch

Faith, life, kids & bikes

Missing Fred Stoesz

3 Comments

Fred Stoesz

On Friday I lost a friend and mentor. Fred Stoesz was 60 years old and finally lost his battle with cancer but won his great reward: Jesus.

I met Fred when he was invited to present a church planting in the inner-city seminar at Elmwood MB Church 11 or 12 years ago. I was working with inner-city teens and seeing them grow in faith. I also recognized that they didn’t fit into any of the current church moulds – so I signed up. I wanted to do what Fred had been doing, and what he was mentoring others to do – plant a church with disenfranchised people in my neighbourhood.

A short time later Fred moved to town and we met regularly to talk about my efforts and directions in church planting. Fred was always so encouraging and helpful and he didn’t give up his frontline ministry to just oversee younger men – he was actively involved with guys living street lives. His was a messy life – in things up to his armpits.

I will miss Fred as a pastor, mentor, intercessor, evangelist, friend of the poor, encourager of the weary, prophet to the church and my friend.

Thank you Fred for your legacy.

Author: Robb Massey

I'm a husband, dad, pastor and a coach. I love following Jesus, riding my bike and having fun with my family. We live in wonderful Winnipeg, Manitoba in the prairie heartland of Canada

3 thoughts on “Missing Fred Stoesz

  1. It is always hard to lose somebody like that, but I’m so glad that you had him in your life,Rob. I hope that in the future you will be able to mean the same to a younger person, especially your own children. Love and in His service, May.

  2. I just typed my Dad’s name into google, and this popped up. Thank you for remembering my Dad and for recognizing how special of a human being he was. “In things up to his armpits” is a great description of how he lived life. Thanks again… Laura

Leave a Reply

