Life on the front porch

Faith, life, kids & bikes

Why do evangelists fast? (#1)

Leave a comment

Nearly 9 years ago I was introduced to the discipline of fasting and by now I’m a full believer in its effectiveness to change me.  I think that I initially thought that fasting was meant to change God, that I could manipulate God to do what I needed.  Then as I matured, I had ideas about how to get supernatural power and insight through fasting.  Now, after nearly a decade, I realize that it’s just a weak, foolish means to my own deepening in Christ.  Nothing seems to change in fasting but me.  Maybe the heavens are moved and maybe history is changed by my fasting, but the only thing I can be certain of is that I am changed.

In the next number of posts I want to give encouragement and instruction on proper fasting for every believer, but especially for those involved in the work of evangelization and disciple making.  If you feel driven to action, seeing the lost saved, reviving the saved and training them all – you will need to know how to fast.  It’s basic faith – not just for the spiritually mature, and it’s our oxygen – keeping us on the move.  We were made for this!

If you’ve got a story or testimony about fasting in your l life, Share it here to encourage others on this path.

 right now!

Author: Robb Massey

I'm a husband, dad, pastor and a coach. I love following Jesus, riding my bike and having fun with my family. We live in wonderful Winnipeg, Manitoba in the prairie heartland of Canada

Leave a Reply

