Life on the front porch

Faith, life, kids & bikes

Fasting is easiest when you’ve got friends with you (#6)

Leave a comment

Okay,  I’m running to the end of this little series on fasting.  It’s been good for me to reflect on my own discipline and to remember that I am after joy, peace, full life and the good things.  By fasting, I am making more space in my life for these things.

Through a lot of failures and mistakes (I make more than most) I’ve learned a few things that help me practically in fasting.

  1. Do it in community. Let your family know before so you don’t have to be awkward and actually be supportive.  I have friends who have a list on the fridge of what everyone is fasting and their schedules.  Don’t put it on Facebook or twitter, that’s not quite the spirit of Godly fasting.
  2. There are certain questions you should not ask people who are fasting: “how’s it going?” What are you doing for your fast?”
  3. There are helpful questions to ask? “How can I pray for you in your fast?” “Is there anything I need to know about your fast?”
  4. Fasting is not my licence to be grouchy.  If I’m getting grouchy, chances are, there’s something that God is revealing in my heart that I can be set free from.  How exciting and gracious of God to do this through fasting.
  5. Include my children.  By talking openly and inviting them to know and understand fasting, I’m giving them a jumpstart on a lifestyle that will set them apart for the things of God’s kingdom.  Being wise, children can participate in various types and lengths of fasts.

My prayer is that you would experience the depth & height, the width and breadth of the love of God and that you would find fasting to be an accelerator.  Jesus came so that you could know God and he’s given us great gifts to help.

If you’ve questions or stories about fasting, I’d love to engage with you and help where I can.

Author: Robb Massey

I'm a husband, dad, pastor and a coach. I love following Jesus, riding my bike and having fun with my family. We live in wonderful Winnipeg, Manitoba in the prairie heartland of Canada

Leave a Reply

