Life on the front porch

Faith, life, kids & bikes

Childlike praying

9 Comments

This week I’m continuing to meditate through Oswald Chambers book: Prayer: A Holy Occupation.

Week 1: Boldness – praying boldly, confident that there are no unanswered prayers, reckless and always because God is Almighty!
Week 2: Childlikeness – there is nothing I’ve done to earn the attention of Our Father, He loves us and wants to be our father.

What Chambers says (a few times) is that I need to be stupid about prayer – what do I know? What wisdom do I have? How have I earned the right to be heard in prayer? It’s not my clever words or my wisdom that impresses God, it’s my designation as His child that moves his heart.

Mark 10 tells us the story of Jesus busy teaching and healing. He was doing the things that they Father had sent him to do (Luke 4 & Isaiah 61) – demons were fleeing and very important people were seeking out Jesus for favour and advice. So when some parents, with their children came to see Jesus, the apostles did what they thought was right – they acted like gatekeepers to keep the children from bother Jesus in his very important work. I can do the same thing; I can make my prayers ineffective when I resist my childlike prayers.

I think that Jesus wanted us to consider that the King of all Heaven and Earth is our Father. We don’t need to get permission and form a delegation with finely crafted words to convince the King of the merits of our cause – we walk past the guards, through the choirs of angels, right up to the very throne of heaven with the joy and expectation that He wants us to sit with him and share our life with him. Our concerns are his concerns, our life is entwined with his and it’s his desire that we would be with him and become like him.

Matthew was also impressed by how Jesus elevated children as models of the Kingdom. After Jesus whipped the money changers and caused some commotion in the temple, did you notice what the children did? They started to sing and shout praises to God (Matt 21). The adults were terrible worried that this was unacceptable behaviour for the temple, but Jesus was encouraged and pointed out that this was what God was actually looking for. If the priests, who knew what Messiah would look like and what news he would bring, didn’t recognize Jesus as the Messiah, then God was going to turn ignorant and enthusiastic children into his prophetic messengers.

“The greatest barrier to our intercession is that we take ourselves so seriously and come to the conclusion that God is reserved with us; He is not. God has to ignore things that we take so seriously until our relationship to him is exactly that of a child.”

So today, I’ll walk straight to the very throne of God, sit on his lap, lay back against him, feel his heartbeat and pray the prayers of heaven. Lord, let Your Kingdom come. I agree with you, would you come and play with me?!

Thanks for reflecting with me today.

Author: Robb Massey

I'm a husband, dad, pastor and a coach. I love following Jesus, riding my bike and having fun with my family. We live in wonderful Winnipeg, Manitoba in the prairie heartland of Canada

9 thoughts on “Childlike praying

  1. Has your mom showed you my new prayer book, Robb? It’s all about childlike praying so you’d probably enjoy it.

  2. Pingback: Is it better for Jesus to be in Heaven than to be here on earth? | Life on the front porch

  3. Pingback: What does it take to perform like a pro? | Life on the front porch

  4. Pingback: The 3 P’s of Prayer | Life on the front porch

  5. Pingback: A final thought on my career in prayer | Life on the front porch

  6. Pingback: Childlike Faith | Proverbs 31 Wanna-be

  7. Pingback: Matthew 6:1-34 – The Nazarene’s Commentary on Leviticus 19:18 Continued 2 Prayer and neighbour love | Belgian Biblestudents - Belgische Bijbelstudenten

Leave a Reply

