Life on the front porch

Faith, life, kids & bikes

No more resolutions, Get One Word

1 Comment

As I head into a new year I’m looking back at what the Lord has done for us, how he’s brought us through and I’m considering what this next year will hold.  I really enjoy the challenge of dreaming and thinking about what is to come.  How can I make positive changes to the people around me?  What legacy will I leave?A year ago I came across a new resource called Get One Word.  I listened to the seminar (click here – it was free) and I’m considering, what is the One Word that will carry me through 2013.  With the fact that I can’t even remember what my resolutions were last year, I’m hopeful that this year, I’ve found a tool that’s more helpful.
Here’s a letter I wrote to some friends last year.  I’m looking forward to doing my One Word again for this year.
Well, at least one of my friends has been pestering me, “So, what is your one word for the year?”  And it’s been a difficult but fun journey to discover my word for 2013.  The pictures are of our family painting our “Words” – Trust, Turn, Obey, Truth, Faithful & Giving.
 
My One Word for 2013 - painted by me!At first, I liked the word “Convergence” to describe different streams coming together – especially prayer and mission, but also converging passions and vocations.  It seemed like a good word.  Then I shared it with Christa and as I said it out loud, it just didn’t seem right.  Then, in a moment that was relatively unspiritual, I heard the word “Trust.”  It didn’t seem right either, but I just couldn’t shake it.  Trust seemed to be the word that Jesus is giving me. (It does make me a little nervous when Jesus is giving me the word trust, but maybe that’s part of the adventure he’s got for me).
 
Trust.  This year I’m going to build a file on trust – Bible verses, quotes, stories, songs and even pictures.  We’ll also put our pictures up in a prominent place so that we’re reminded to grow together in 2013.
 
How about you?  What is your one word or resolution for this next year?  I’d love to hear.
My One Word for 2013 – painted by me!
Author: Robb Massey

I'm a husband, dad, pastor and a coach. I love following Jesus, riding my bike and having fun with my family. We live in wonderful Winnipeg, Manitoba in the prairie heartland of Canada

One thought on “No more resolutions, Get One Word

  1. Pingback: Resolutions….. | Journey With Jesus

Leave a Reply

