Life on the front porch

Faith, life, kids & bikes

Is going to pray like going to funeral?

Leave a comment

This summer I’ve been invited to 7 weddings (but because of moving continents we’ll only make it to 3). What I enjoy about weddings is that I remember my own wedding and I’m reminded about what a wedding is really about. Now some people will try to tell you that “It’s all about the dress,” and others will try to convince you that a good wedding is the only way to start a good marriage. As I was packing and shredding old documents, I recently came across the budget for our wedding. Somehow we spent $309 on our whole honeymoon, including $89 for our first night in the hotel and $25 for gas to get to Edmonton. I have no idea how that happened! (But this is also why I council young couples to get married when they’re poor – they don’t have to spend as much on the rings and wedding!)

What do you think about at a wedding?

What do you think about at a wedding?

There’s so much going on at a wedding that it’s easy to get distracted by the real purpose – to find joy in the wrong things or to be frustrated by things that don’t matter.

So too, I often fall into the trap of thinking wrongly about the purpose of prayer? Why do I relate prayer to the work of moving rocks from my pile to God’s. I don’t think that Jesus had in mind that Christians would be joyless & boring when he called us to be a house of prayer. The purpose of prayer must be better than just moving rocks.

Have you heard this story?

One Sunday morning, the pastor noticed little Johnny was staring up at the large plaque that hung in the foyer of the church. The seven-year-old had been staring at the plaque for some time, so the pastor walked up, stood beside the boy, and said quietly, “Good morning son.”
“Good morning pastor” replied the young man, focused on the plaque.
“Sir, what is this?” Johnny asked.
“Well son, these are all the people who have died in the service,” replied the pastor.
Soberly, they stood together, staring at the large plaque.
Little Johnny’s voice barely broke the silence when he asked quietly, “Which one sir, the 8:30 or the 10:30 service?”

How about you? Is prayer like forced labour or is it enjoyable?

What do you think you could do to make prayer meetings more enjoyable?

Author: Robb Massey

I'm a husband, dad, pastor and a coach. I love following Jesus, riding my bike and having fun with my family. We live in wonderful Winnipeg, Manitoba in the prairie heartland of Canada

Leave a Reply

