Life on the front porch

Faith, life, kids & bikes

Remembering Hosea Bennett

2 Comments

Last Friday our good friend Hosea Bennett passed into glory and we miss him dearly.
Grandpa Bennett sauntered into our lives when I needed a weekend retreat and, with Donald Grier, travelled to Fargo ND to stay for a few days.  Hosea welcomed me in and became a good friend in a short time.  Later that summer, our whole family travelled through Fargo, on our way to BC – my children, like most children, instantly bonded with Grandpa Bennett.  Since that visit, we’ve enjoyed his visits for BBQ when he’s come to Winnipeg.
What we will miss about Hosea Bennett:

– We’re grateful that we were introduced to Golden Corral (Bennett knew good food in good quantity)
– Open hospitality!  Hosea was a living example of hospitality – he started at love and just increased from there.
– No complaining.  We knew that he struggled to breath and to walk but we never heard about it.
– Sharing hilarious stories.  The first evening our family spent in Fargo we couldn’t get Orien to go to bed, he just loved sitting listening to stories and sharing his own too.  We were all drawn into worlds we’d never experienced – military life and growing up in the south came alive for us.
– His love of animals was obvious – and my children loved his dogs!  It’s probably what they talked about for days after they met him.
Thank you Grandpa Bennett.  The short time we knew you was long enough for you to make your way deep into our hearts.  We pray that you’ll be welcomed into the arms of our Saviour and that our Lord will comfort all who miss you.

The LORD is my shepherd, I shall not be in want.
He makes me lie down in green pastures,
He leads me beside quiet waters,
He restores my soul.
He guides me in paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.
Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
I will fear no evil, for you are with me;
Your rod and your staff, they comfort me.
You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies.
You anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows.
Surely goodness and love will follow me all the days of my life,
And I will dwell in the house of the LORD forever.

Author: Robb Massey

I'm a husband, dad, pastor and a coach. I love following Jesus, riding my bike and having fun with my family. We live in wonderful Winnipeg, Manitoba in the prairie heartland of Canada

2 thoughts on “Remembering Hosea Bennett

  1. Thank you so much for your kind words. You hit the nail on the head when describing my father.

    God Bless.

    Hosea Bennett, III

    • You are why I wrote this. I never met you but loved your father and I know I’d love to hear from others about those I love. May his legacy live on and his faults fade away.

Leave a Reply

