Life on the front porch

Faith, life, kids & bikes

The Heritage & Reward of Children

2 Comments

When I got married I thought that I was pretty selfless person – generous and forgiving in my life. Becoming a husband burst that fantasy – I was (though hopefully am less now) an arrogant & self-serving man. Likewise, when I became a dad I thought that I was a patient person and that I was beginning to really get a handle on my anger. It sure didn’t take too long to realize that I have a much greater capacity for impatience, self importance and anger than I thought.

Loving the fighter jets at the airplane museum

Loving the fighter jets at the airplane museum

Maybe you’ve heard others blame their adult temper tantrums on their children? I’ve even heard parents say that they have to drink heavily or use illegal drugs & painkillers because their children cause them so much stress. It’s easy for me to understand why they make these statements, but it’s not how God sees children.

Children are God’s reward to us!

When my oldest son was weeks old the Lord highlighted Psalm 127 and I’ve memorized it as a blessing over me and my children. This song has become a pray of our home and a prophesy of our future. Here’s how I pray and change my own values through this Psalm:

Full of wonder and enthusiasm

Full of wonder and enthusiasm

  • Unless the Lord builds the house – Jesus, build our house. Build it using yourself as a foundation and let us be the living stones!
  • Unless the Lord stands watch – Jesus, we want safety but not in the way you bring. Bring safety in your way. Show us the real dangers and knock over all the false threats.
  • Children are a heritage from the Lord – It’s not my job, the success of my accomplishments, the wealth of my home but it’s my children that the Lord has given to me as an inheritance. You go into the treasure stores of your home and you bring out children.
  • Like arrows in the hands of a warrior – Lord, you’ve made me an arrow. My children are the weapons of my safety, prosperity and the way that You provide for me.
  • They will not be put to shame when they contend with their enemies at the gate – Me and the army God has given me! That’s who will push over the enemy’s schemes. Their cute but they’re deadly. Trained & disciplined, loved & nourished, they stand with me and for me.

How then should I think and act?

If the Lord sees children as the way He blesses, rewards, protects and prospers you, why do you think that children are an inconvenience, an economic burden or a distraction from your personal encounters with God? Maybe you don’t say it like that (you are much nicer than me), but when children aren’t on the same schedule as you, perhaps it’s you that is on the wrong schedule.

Let me invite us to continue to reflect and pray into the reward and heritage of children. God wants us to see something different. He wants us to remember who he is and how he works. He wants us to pay attention to children. Will you do that? Will you remember today the value of children? What do you think would happen if we did this together?

Author: Robb Massey

I'm a husband, dad, pastor and a coach. I love following Jesus, riding my bike and having fun with my family. We live in wonderful Winnipeg, Manitoba in the prairie heartland of Canada

2 thoughts on “The Heritage & Reward of Children

  1. Hmmm. I like the mental picture of my kids being my arrow of protection, ect. Yes, they are beinga trained for a very real battle that requires cute little kids with courage and uncomplicated love. This post hit me. xoxo to you and your quiver of arrows. 🙂

  2. Yep, our kids are cute. And dangerous.

    When you’re praying for your kids, maybe stop praying for their safety. Instead, pray for the safety of those they meet!

Leave a Reply

