Life on the front porch

Faith, life, kids & bikes

A look at a miracle through children’s eyes

Leave a comment

Today I’m reflecting on children and Jesus’ sufficiency in the feeding of the 5000.  I’ve been reading in John 6, but you can find the story in each of the gospel accounts.  To start, I’ve got some questions:

  • What did Jesus see that the disciples did not see?Everyone sees something differently
  • What did the boy with fish and bread see that the disciples did not see?
  • Are there other stories or events that demonstrate what Jesus want’s of me or for me?
  • Is there an impossible challenge that I need either Jesus’ or a child’s help to see the solution?
I think that Jesus was seeing an opportunity to demonstrate the values and power of the Kingdom.  Don’t worry.  Don’t pack an extra bag when you go out.  Trust me.  This is how Jesus, the King, saw.  He’s sees opportunity for sharing God’s glory.

The boy just seems to answer Jesus request.  He trusted Jesus and didn’t worry about what he didn’t have.  “I’ve got some fish and bread, Jesus needs it, I’ll give it.”  He had that childlike faith that if he gave up this meal, that there’d be another.

So now, a child has become my role model for living the cultural values of the Kingdom.  Jesus is a hard act to follow. He multiplied bread and fish.  But this boy puts me to shame – I need to know again that my daddy in heaven has every resource that I need.  As long as I’m providing for my needs, I don’t need God.

How can I move to seeing like a child or seeing what Jesus saw?  Is there something I need to give away today?  Do I have a resource that can be an answer to someone’s prayer?  Am I afraid of running out of resources or am I able to trust more today than yesterday.  Do I love Jesus more today?

Help me God.

Author: Robb Massey

I'm a husband, dad, pastor and a coach. I love following Jesus, riding my bike and having fun with my family. We live in wonderful Winnipeg, Manitoba in the prairie heartland of Canada

Leave a Reply

