Life on the front porch

Faith, life, kids & bikes

How to know if you’re growing in love…

Leave a comment

To the favourite children of the King,When we first arrived here in Belgium I asked God what he wanted me to accomplish in the next 2 years.  Seems reasonable, He’s the One who brought us here.  I don’t want to be busy doing anything that is not the King’s business.  What was shown to me (through songs, scripture, the Holy Spirit and other people) is that he wants my heart more alive and me more in love.  If it’s possible to measure love and life, Jesus wants these to be the true measures of my success.

What do you think, looks like a path in Belgium.

I love to see how you are growing in your love of God and your skills in the Kingdom!  It makes me proud of you to see what fine men & women you are becoming.  As you grow in your love and faith, you will go through many seasons – probably over and over – and I want you to be aware of what they are so that you can not be surprised but rather be confident that God is the Greatest Lover.  And because he’s the Greatest Lover, He has set everything up so that you’ll fall more in love with Him and grow in your confidence that His love is secure.

For this reason, I think it’s important for you to have a love for Scripture and even more to know the One who is the Word of God – Jesus.  My favourite book in the Bible for understanding God as the Greatest Lover is the Song of Songs (Song of Solomon in some Bibles).  It’s probably the second most misunderstood book in the Bible (Revelation is probably more misunderstood, and we can go there another time) because the language is graphic when it describes the love between a man and a woman.

I’ve been warned that if I talk to young men and women about Song of Songs that you’ll begin to burn with passion and have unhealthy imaginations.  Having been a young man, I’m quite certain that you’re already experiencing some burning and interest in the beautiful people around you.  Your heart does flip flops and you will skip meals and hold your gas – sure signs that passion is waking up in you.  My hope is that by looking at the love language in Song of Songs that you’ll start to understand your own burning passions and how God is thinking and feeling about you.  He loves you – all of you.  He thinks about you – all the time (Psalm 139.17-18).  When you sneak a little peak at him, he notices and his knees go weak.  God could have workers or servants or buddies or even children, but what he most wants is for you to love him and for him to be able to give you all his love.  God is looking for people motivated by love (2 Chronicles 16.9) like you and me.  By studying this book, I expect that God will help us.

Why not read through Song of Songs one time this week.  You could do it all at once (in about the time it takes to watch a 30 minute TV show) or by reading 1 or 2 chapters each evening.

I’m really interested in hearing what you notice.

Faithfully,

Robb in the Vineyard

Author: Robb Massey

I'm a husband, dad, pastor and a coach. I love following Jesus, riding my bike and having fun with my family. We live in wonderful Winnipeg, Manitoba in the prairie heartland of Canada

Leave a Reply

