Life on the front porch

Faith, life, kids & bikes

How to be confident in faith

6 Comments

This week I was out for a walk and suddenly felt this awareness of being far away from Jesus. Do you know what I mean?  My prayers felt like they were hitting the clouds and coming right back at me, doubts were starting to creep in and everyone with no faith seemed to be doing just fine and even prospering, while I’m struggling.

What’s up with seasons like this?  Why am I experiencing this when Jesus promised to never leave me or forsake me? (Hebrews 13:5)?  Sometimes I just withdraw (“O poor me”) other times I compensate by working harder (“I will just get through this”).  Do you ever have times like this?  Fear, worry, pride driving your lack of connection with the one your heart loves?

In the Song of Songs, this is not the the Bride’s response in Song 4 – she is beginning to grow in confident maturity because she is learning to know and love and trust her Lover.  She not only knows his love, his beauty and his strength, but she also knows what he’s thinking about her.  She is beginning to understand (knowledge) and experience (emotions) the Bridegroom’s thoughts and emotions about her.  As you read them, can you believe that this is how Jesus thinks & feels about you?

3 Declarations of the Bridegroom over his Bride (Song 4.9-16)

1.  Do you know how you move Jesus’ heart?

You have stolen my heart, my sister, my bride;
    you have stolen my heart
with one glance of your eyes. (Song 4.9)
You move the emotions of God!  We are the objects of Jesus’ passion and love and his heart does flip flops every time you look up from your busyness to catch his eye.  His knees go weak and he loses his appetite because he finds you beautiful and your weak, immature love for him is just what he’s looking for.  (Ephesians 5.25)

2.  Do you know how valuable you are to Jesus?

You are a garden locked up, my sister, my bride (Song 4.12)
You are as valuable as a King’s private garden.  Every king builds public gardens for the public to walk through, but they have private, locked gardens with their most precious growing treasures.  You are like that garden – you’re not just the treasure, you’re the one in whom the King of the Universe places his most precious growing treasures.  The finest fruit trees, the most fragrant spice plants, healing plants & shade trees – all lovingly tended and fruitful.  All this is what the King finds in you. (Galatians 5:22-23).

3.  Do you know the blessing that you are to all around you?

You are a garden fountain,
    a well of flowing water
    streaming down from Lebanon. (Song 4.15)

You have abundant resources to bless those around you.  Don’t dam up or horde your resources.  The King has put in you a flowing fountain of water that is for the blessing of those around you.  The point isn’t to let everyone into your garden (that belongs to the King) but you are to live overflowing with life-giving resources.  Jesus sees you as one who brings fresh, clean water to all those you encounter.

Do you believe it?  Can you imagine that this is in you?  And can you dare to believe that Jesus sees it in you?  Even in seed form, the great Lover sees that you are a treasure and a treasure house.  Your work doesn’t impress him.  Your feelings of separation cannot change his mind.  Your belief will not change how he sees you – you are His Bride, growing in confidence and maturity has a surprising response.

The confident response of the Bride

Awake, north wind,
    and come, south wind!
Blow on my garden,
    that its fragrance may spread everywhere.
Let my beloved come into his garden
    and taste its choice fruits. (Song 4.16)
The Beloved (the Bride) declares her extravagant devotion.  The north winds are the cold winds of trial and testing – come.  The south winds are the winds of warmth and summer – come.  Come good times and come troubled times, she’s confident that they’re all working together for her good.  No, not just her good, but that she would be ready for her wedding – confident in the strength & love of the Bridegroom.
Here’s how the Apostle Paul said it:
For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all. (2 Corinthians 4:17)
I move God’s heart of love.
I hold the treasures of heaven inside me.
I overflow with blessings to others.
So I will endure everything for the sake of this love
– never let me be separated.
Author: Robb Massey

I'm a husband, dad, pastor and a coach. I love following Jesus, riding my bike and having fun with my family. We live in wonderful Winnipeg, Manitoba in the prairie heartland of Canada

6 thoughts on “How to be confident in faith

  1. I love the declarations, Robb! It’s hard to believe that we move His heart, but I do – I feel it!
    Thanks for the reminder!

  2. Hi Robb; in the name of the Flagey home group thank you !! Yesterday we used this posts of yours to share around seasons in our own relation with Him and about the declarations of the Bridegroom :-). We had a great time. Thanks!

  3. What fun. Glad I could do this and that you were encouraged.

    What next? We may need another series in the future and I’m open to suggestions.

Leave a Reply

